UA-116509553-1

Work Wear Flare

Work Wear Flare

My office recently moved from Queens to Manhattan meaning my wardrobe has started to slightly shift back to a more corporate vibe.  Being that I still work in a business casual environment I like to keep the vibe corporate but the styles I wear more […]

Remixed Maxi Skirt for Fall

Remixed Maxi Skirt for Fall

A trusted summer favorite can easily linger in your closet well into the fall and winter.  When the temperature starts to drop maxi skirts make a great transitional companion.  For warmth you can pair with tights underneath and your favorite booties.  I love mixing my […]

Summery Statements

Summery Statements

Amazon has become such a style staple for me over the last few years.  I can browse their shoe selection for hours but the easiest shopping decisions I make are always in the jewelry section.  Statement earrings are one of my favorite pieces of jewelry, they complete an outfit without much effort and you don’t even need a full face of make-up to pull them off.  I can’t stop wearing my red tassel earrings from Amazon and need to stop myself from adding to my collection on a weekly basis.

 

 


But First, My Favorite Sales Right Now

But First, My Favorite Sales Right Now

This evening I walked into Ulta and easily dropped a nice dollar on perfume.  Did I need perfume?  No, and certainly not three but the deals were TOO good – extra 50% off markdowns – and the brands were ones I would typically eye.  So […]

Pinstripes & Poplin

Pinstripes & Poplin

Pinstripes and poplin blouses are the perfect pairing for summer picnics.  I love the light and breezy fit that adds just a touch of sophistication to your favorite jeans.  Oftentimes in the summer I find myself searching for the perfect blouse for days where I […]

What I’m Reading: Summer 2018

What I’m Reading: Summer 2018

I’ve always loved books but there’s something about the summertime that makes reading (no matter where I am) so much more fun.  For me personally, I think summer reading is a big gulp of nostalgia.  Growing up I would load up on books before heading to the Adirondacks for four weeks – no television, no cell phones, no internet.  I remember tearing through the Gossip Girls series while sitting lakeside – switching between books and friendship bracelet crafting.  I remember sitting on the porch discovering The Sisterhood of the Traveling pants for the first time and in recent years, getting introduced to some of my favorite authors Liane Moriarty and Taylor Jenkins Reed while perched on my parents boat.

As an adult summer vacation is nearly non-existent but that doesn’t stop me from cracking the spine in between subway stops or packing a book for every picnic in Central Park.  And nothing excites me more than doling out book suggestions.

I have been seeing a lot of book request posts on the gram lately and figured I would share what I’m reading this summer as well as some of my favorite suggestions from summers and subway rides past.

Summer 2018 Reading List 

What I’ve Read So Far 

I am currently reading Big Little Lies for the sole purpose of comparing it to the HBO series.  Highly recommend The Perfect Couple for a vacation read and Modern Lovers for your commute.

What’s In My Queue 


Reading Recommendations


The Knockoff is my favorite book to pass along; it’s a quick, witty read for anyone who devoured The Devil Wears Prada.  The Regulars is a cheeky, fun workplace read with a twist.  You is a dark twisted, thriller that is actually premiering as a Lifetime movie this fall (and I cannot wait!).  The Husband’s Secret is the book that made me a Liane Moriarty fan.  For fans of Me Before You, I highly suggest the sequel After You.  And I recommend almost anything by Taylor Jenkins Reed.

What’s on your summer reading list?  Are we sharing any picks?

*This post contains affiliate links

Pool Float Personality

Pool Float Personality

Most of us have fallen victim to the pool float trend from the last few years. What started with a quirky flamingo or unicorn has evolved into one of summer’s most Instagrammable products. I will admit, I can’t help but to admire these floating wonders […]

Winnin’ in Linen

Winnin’ in Linen

Shorts aren’t an item that stick around or make frequent appearances in my wardrobe.  Finding shorts that are an age appropriate length can be a challenge but I have had some successes with the shorts from Old Navy.  I recently ordered these linen printed shorts […]

One Shoulder Wonder

One Shoulder Wonder

I can still remember the first time I ever purchased a one shoulder garment.  It was roughly 2004 and Laverne and Shirley style monogramming had been one of the trends to have.  One of my favorite stores to take long walks down the clearance aisle in was Mandee; best known for lots of knock of Guess and a theme song that I was convinced was sung by boy band favorite O-Town.  I will never forget finding a slinky one shoulder black dress with a bedazzled monogram J.  It was $11 and perfect for my first and only high school homecoming (that I spent all of fifteen minutes at before getting bored).  It was a trend I honestly never thought I would see make a come back mainly because #UghStraplessBras but here we are.

Now I can’t help but treat my little nostalgic heart everytime I stumble across a great one shoulder piece.  So far my collection consists of this stunning ruffled shirt dress, the softest grey cotton tee and the breeziest neutral jumpsuit.  I found this dress in the Banana Republic clearance section.  It was the last one left, in my exact size and only $20!  I tried it on while wearing the same red tassel earrings and immediately knew I was born to own this dress.

Have you been indulging in trend therapy lately?

Shop My One Shoulder Picks


 

*This post contains affiliate links

The One Dress You Need for All Your Summer Events

The One Dress You Need for All Your Summer Events

I love when I find a dress that is comfy, soft, flattering, and great for tossing in your suitcase.  I purchased this London Times dress [that I recently shared on Instagram] last summer via tjmaxx.com and it has come to the rescue on many last […]