UA-116509553-1

What I’m Reading: Summer 2018

I’ve always loved books but there’s something about the summertime that makes reading (no matter where I am) so much more fun.  For me personally, I think summer reading is a big gulp of nostalgia.  Growing up I would load up on books before heading to the Adirondacks for four weeks – no television, no cell phones, no internet.  I remember tearing through the Gossip Girls series while sitting lakeside – switching between books and friendship bracelet crafting.  I remember sitting on the porch discovering The Sisterhood of the Traveling pants for the first time and in recent years, getting introduced to some of my favorite authors Liane Moriarty and Taylor Jenkins Reed while perched on my parents boat.

As an adult summer vacation is nearly non-existent but that doesn’t stop me from cracking the spine in between subway stops or packing a book for every picnic in Central Park.  And nothing excites me more than doling out book suggestions.

I have been seeing a lot of book request posts on the gram lately and figured I would share what I’m reading this summer as well as some of my favorite suggestions from summers and subway rides past.

Summer 2018 Reading List 

What I’ve Read So Far 

I am currently reading Big Little Lies for the sole purpose of comparing it to the HBO series.  Highly recommend The Perfect Couple for a vacation read and Modern Lovers for your commute.

What’s In My Queue 


Reading Recommendations


The Knockoff is my favorite book to pass along; it’s a quick, witty read for anyone who devoured The Devil Wears Prada.  The Regulars is a cheeky, fun workplace read with a twist.  You is a dark twisted, thriller that is actually premiering as a Lifetime movie this fall (and I cannot wait!).  The Husband’s Secret is the book that made me a Liane Moriarty fan.  For fans of Me Before You, I highly suggest the sequel After You.  And I recommend almost anything by Taylor Jenkins Reed.

What’s on your summer reading list?  Are we sharing any picks?

*This post contains affiliate links



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *